Tags

,

Tonight I made spaghetti squash for the first time. I was a little dubious at first–growing up in an Italian household where we have pasta several times a week, I didn’t think that squash could replace my beloved starch. However, I had been swept away by the variety of fall gourds available at Jone’s Farm when I went pumpkin picking this fall, and decided to give this recipe a try. I don’t think I’ll be getting my dad on board anytime soon, but I was really excited about the results!

The spaghetti squash was really hard! My dad helped me cut it into quarters. Then I scraped out the seeds and steamed it for about 20 minutes, while I chopped up the other vegetables.

I didn’t have all the same vegetables the recipe called for, but I dug out some broccoli, asparagus, red pepper and carrots to steam with the spaghetti squash.

While the veggies were steaming, I made the cheese sauce by mixing together 1/2 cup of chicken broth, 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese, 2 tablespoons of parmigiana cheese and a little basil.

All of the vegetables except the spaghetti squash were doused in cold water. Then it was time to make the spaghetti squash into spaghetti! It was really hot, but very soft and easy to scrap the flesh of the squash into strips with a fork. Everything then went back into the pot–veggies, squash and cheese sauce and viola! I discovered a new, healthy alternative to ordinary pasta.

The Final Result!

If you’d like the recipe, check out my recipes section!

