Tags

, , ,

What do you do when you’ve had a terribly stressful week? Buy chocolate. Duhh. What do you do when you and several of your friends have all had terribly stressful weeks? Buy chocolate, and make cupcakes for everyone, of course.

To celebrate making it through another week I decided to make dark chocolate cupcakes. With a twist. A raspberry cream cheese twist. I’d never made filled cupcakes before, and I thought, what better time to try?

After a little searching, through my cabinets and through Google, I found this dark chocolate cupcake recipe and whipped up a batch. When I went to the store to pick up some cream cheese for my frosting, I stopped by the liquor store and could not resist this cute bottle of Riesling from Cupcake Vineyards. I like that the cupcake recipe only makes 12 cupcakes, so you aren’t overwhelmed with a vast amount of baked goods and left with “no choice” but to eat 4 cupcakes a day for weeks.

After I made the cupcakes, I used the twist off cap from the wine to dig out a hole for my raspberry jelly. Necessity is the mother of invention.

After coring all the cupcakes, I filled them with a teaspoon of raspberry jelly.

After all the cupcakes were filled and ready for frosting, I made a simple cream cheese frosting by mixing cream cheese, a stick of butter, several cups of confectioner’s sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla extract together. I put the frosting in a large ziplock bag and then in the freezer for about an hour so that it could harden. When I thought the frosting was stiff enough, I cut a leaf tip into the corner of the zip lock bag. (This is done by cutting a little “V” into the bag. The tip of the V should point in toward the frosting.) Then, I used the bag to create points all over the top of the cupcakes, and sprinkled them with red decorating sugar and edible nonpariels. Because the frosting was so soft, I am storing these cupcakes in the refrigerator. If you are going for look over taste, I would use store bought cream cheese frosting, which would give you edgier points. I hope they make it through the trip to my friend’s house!

